My Hospital bag as a second time Mum

 

I felt a bit lost the first time I went to hospital for the birth of my son. I hadn’t fully discovered Pinterest at that point and the blogs I read were so varied in what you should and shouldn’t take that I just didn’t know what to do.

As a second time Mum and someone who has gone through both a natural birth and a caesarean for other reasons, I feel a lot more clued up this time as to what is and isn’t necessary for both baby and myself.

What I will be taking for my Baby boy

IMG_8056IMG_8057

  1. Baby Swadlle from Swaddle up This swaddle allows baby to sleep with his arms above his head which is how both myself and Oliver sleep.
  2.  Going home outfits – These are outfits for when we take our little man home and undoubtedly will take photos of him and also for when people visit as it’s always nice for baby to be in a nice outfit for all those first family photos
  3. 4 Long sleeve pyjamas from Zara and Next which are first size. Oliver never got to wear this size. He was already 56cm when he was born but as this little one will be arriving earlier and is currently 48cm I will need these.
  4. 3 long sleeve bodies from H&M
  5. 2 first size leggings The hospital here supplies all in one pyjamas for at least two changes a day so technically you don’t have to bring any clothes at all if you don’t want too.
  6. 2 cardigans These are for leaving the hospital, with a spare for spit up.
  7. 5 pairs of baby socks
  8. 1 pair of newborn booties
  9. 1 baby towel A personal preference for bath time
  10. Baby receiving blanket I have a beautiful blanket that doesn’t appear in this photo that was my own blanket as a baby, but Oliver insisted he wanted this one as it is so soft!
  11. 4 short sleeve bodies to go under the pyjamas at night
  12. Baby wipes These are a must! You’ll notice I am not taking nappies, this is because the hospital provides these so I will only take 3 or 4 with me for when we leave the hospital to go home.
  13. Newborn dummy Absolutely not planning on using this unless it is totally necessary as it is so hard to get a baby  to give up a dummy- believe me I have been there
  14. Muslins- Very useful whether breat or bottle feeding
  15. Baby body moisturiser
  16. Tommee Tipee Closer to Nature Newborn Bottle for our journey home
  17. Carton of Formula Milk

Ask your Doctor or Hospital what they will and won’t provide in case you are not sure. For example ask whether they have milk and bottles if you aren’t planning on breastfeeding and whether they have nappies etc although you may still want to take your own.

What I will be taking for Mummy

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hospital Bag for mum (2)

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

This has been the biggest difference between what I packed the first time and the second time.

  1. 6 pairs of knickers I am willing to throw away. Whether you are having a natural birth or a caesarean you will be bleeding ALOT afterwards and although the hospital will provide you with pads (use them, they are way better than the ones you buy in the supermarket) you may well need to throw this underwear away afterwards. Don’t take your best underwear
  2. Breast feeding Bra– I am not planning on breast feeding this time but I never say never so I will be taking this anyway. Lots of different choices and brands here at ASOS
  3. Breast feeding pads – Just in case, these are for any leaks.
  4. Nightdress– This is to wear after giving birth as I wanted something that wasn´t a hospital gown to sleep in, but it needs to be a dress as the day after giving birth, the Gynaecologist is constantly checking you down there to look at swelling/bleeding/stitches.
  5. Dressing gown and slippers– Hospitals can be cold so this is for extra warmth and for moving around the hospital.
  6. Stretchy leggings, vest top and jumper– This is an extra outfit for when visitors come and you don´t want to be in a nightdress but need something comfy.
  7. Hospital outfit- As in what I will wear to the hospital and home. You may need two depending on whether your water has broken or not before you leave home. Some people will suggest maternity clothes. I just chose something stretchy for coming home as your stomach won´t go straight back to pre-pregnancy but for some women like myself, you don´t have enough pooch afterwards to warrant full blown maternity trousers.
  8. Post partum Body– Literally what it says, this squidges everything back in to the right place and I will wear this or a belly band after giving birth until I feel my tummy is going back to it´s normal place! I like these types of belts or these.
  9. Things not shown– My kindle and a charger– days can be long in a hospital. Take something to do, whether it´s a book or whatever keeps you entertained. So important so don´t forget.
  10. My phone and charger.
  11. Passport or Identity card- they won´t let you take baby home here until you have shown it.
  12. Portable hair dryer– Just incase they don´t have one.
  13. Makeup bag– you often have a lovely pasty color after giving birth!
  14. Glasses or contact lenses
  15. Snacks- I was seriously hungry after giving birth but didn´t want any of the things they had in the canteen. This time I will be preparing some healthy snacks to take with me.
  16. Water – Ofcourse there is water at a hospital but I drink a lot and that way I´m not constantly calling the nurses.
  17. Baby Car Seat
  18. Toiletry Bag

1. I will be taking dry shampooAussie Miracle – you don´t always feel like washing and drying your hair after labor or can´t after a caesarean.

2. Redken shampoo and conditioner sachets– ask your hairdresser for some sample sachets.

3. Toothbrush and toothpaste for myself, husband and son.

4.Deoderant

5.Makeup remover and cotton pads

6.Razor

7. Travel size Shower gel and stretch mark moisturiser (3 for 2 at Boots)

8. Stretch mark oil – It´s important not to neglect this after giving birth as stretch marks can appear when you lose weight as well as gain it.

9. Birth Plan or any paper work you may need.

10. Insurance Card and purse.

I hope this has been helpful to some of you. Not long to go now Ladies!

my signature

Mummascribbles

 

My Kid Doesn't Poop Rainbows

15 thoughts on “My Hospital bag as a second time Mum

  1. I remember feeling stressed about what to pack. You seem to be well organized and have everything together.Thanks for sharing! #TwinklyTuesday

    Like

  2. My hospital bag for second time didn’t make it to hospital – baby decided to make a rapid appearance at home! Definitely is easier to pack second time around, when you have more idea of what is actually needed, though. #twinklytuesday

    Like

    • The same thing happened to a friend of mine! It must be crazy when it’s an unplanned home birth. I’m being induced next week if baby doesn’t appear beforehand. x

      Like

  3. Wow, I wish I would have read this at when my babies were born. I agree: thanks for sharing.
    When my first daughter was born in NY, where they had everything so when our second daughter was born in the UK, I didn’t even bring nappies. Not good… Thankfully, the staff was lovely and quick. 🙂 Wishing you all the best!

    Like

    • How flash Ella, an NY baby! As it’s a different hospital this time I checked what they have as I took far too many useless things for Oliver and nothing useful for myself haha. Not long to go now! xx

      Like

  4. Great post and so organised! In the UK I think what you take depends on if you go private or through the NHS. I don’t remember taking much to the hospital except clothes for myself and S and my phone charger. My family ended up picking up any other bits and peices I needed. #fartglitter

    Like

    • I don’t think it makes much difference here whether you go private or nhs. I also made my husband go back and forward for buys the first time but I don’t think finding things is men’s forte so I packed it all in advance this time haha! X

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post. It’s so easy to get sressed and confused about what to pack so this is definitely one to save for when I have my second :)Thanks for sharing #TwinklyTuesday

    Like

Leave a Reply

