What I´m cooking Wednesday – Organic Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

My pregnancy this time around has been a lot more complicated and therefore, my plans to exercise regularly and to keep off the pregnancy weight ended up going out the window.

I´m a big eater, so I knew I would have to be very careful during this pregnancy as I took the whole ´eating for two´ thing far too literally in my last pregnancy!

I´m definitely not as hungry this pregnancy as I was with Oliver, which helps a lot but unfortunately my food aversions far outweigh any cravings, and the things I´m not loving right now are lettuce, (a huge staple in my normal diet,) and fish 😦

My blood tests last week also showed I was very low on iron and as this caused my platelets to lower so much in my last pregnancy that I couldn´t get the epidural with Oliver, I am all over bringing those iron levels right up!

The dietary information I´ve been given shows a list of high iron foods. There are two types of iron in food and the one that really makes the difference is found in red meat, poultry and fish. Lots of vegetables and legumes contain iron (non-heme) but not the sort of iron that you need to bring the old haemoglobin up to where it should be.

As I said, I´m totally off fish and finding it hard to stomach poultry, so red meat it is. I have also been complementing this with a diet rich in fruits and vegetables.

Tonight I made an Organic broccoli and cheddar soup. Broccoli doesn´t contain huge amounts of the really useful Iron (heme Iron) but it does contain a good dose of Vitamin C which helps with Iron absorption.

What you´ll need

1 Carrot – diced

1 onion – finely chopped

1 stick of celery

Entire head of broccoli (roughly chop the broccoli heads and keep the stalks separate to use later on)

1 leek – diced

2 tablespoons low-fat margarine

80-140 grams grated cheddar cheese, depending on your diet and calories.

1.5 litres chicken stock

Organic Brocolli and cheddar soup

Method

  1. Heat a tablespoon of Olive Oil and cook the onions on a medium heat until soft (add water if they start to catch)

Organic brocolli and cheddar soup

brocolli and cheddar soup

2. Add carrot, leek, celery and margarine. Stir until the margarine has melted and cover with a lid. Let the vegetables sweat for five minutes.

3.Remove the lid and pour in the chicken stock and the broccoli stalks. Cook for 10-15 minutes until all the vegetables are soft

organic broccoli soup

4. Add the rest of the broccoli and cook for a further five minutes. Using a hand-held blender, blitz until completely smooth. If it´s stil too lumpy then just add a bit more stock. Add the cheddar cheese and stir until it has melted. Season with black pepper and serve!

my signature

xx

7 thoughts on “What I´m cooking Wednesday – Organic Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

  1. Hi Jane, we finally had beetroot salad today. I took pictures, but I’m not sure I can copy them in…

    What you need:
    I bought 7 medium sized organic pieces of beetroot, which make a small salad for two people. For the dressing see below.

    What to do:
    Put the beetroot in a pot with water and bring to boil. They’ll take about 40 minutes to be soft. I personally like it when they still have a bit of a bite to them, but that’s obviously up to you.
    When they have cooled down a bit, you can peel them, but be aware: they stain!!! The red colour is hard to wash off your hands so I use disposable plastic gloves, which you can get in the super market.
    Peel the skin off and cut the beetroot into pieces. I prefer chunky ones, but you can also cut them into small cubes.
    That was it, really.

    The dressing:
    For the salad dressing I use
    • organic olive oil
    • red wine vinegar
    • mustard (Dijon is my favourite)
    • salt and pepper.
    If you can, leave the salad a little before serving and stir it a couple of times.

    It’ll probably taste very nice with onions and coriander as well, but I prefer to keep it simple to really taste the fresh beetroot.

    Oh, and it still tasted nice the next day.

    Enjoy. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That looks very yummy. – Another idea could be beetroot, if you like it. I have fresh, organic beetroot at home and plan to make a salad within the next two days. It also contains iron and Vitamin C. I’ll send you my recipe and pictures. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

