What I wore Monday and some Food prepping Ideas

I hate waking up to a grey sky, and today it was about as grey as it gets here in Spain.

I´ve really been feeling the cold these past weeks so today my coats were back out in full force.

I find that the more layers I wear, the more depressed I get about the weather, so I try to dress my Winter blues by adding sparkle or color wherever I can.

Today´s outfit was a Gold Sequinned knit from Mango, teamed with some Guess Stretch Jeans, some Boho boots and a Roberto Verino Wool Coat.

IMG_6817 IMG_6818

You could dress this outfit up by teaming it with some camel ankle boots, or a leopard print high heel.

Jessica Simpson Leopard Print Heel

Jessica+Simpson+'Arriel'+Bootie+(Women)+available+at+#Nordstrom

Jessica Simpson Arriel Bootie @Nordstrom

You could also dress it down with some white plimsoles.

With all this cold weather about it´s really easy to get off-track with healthy eating.

I´ve really neglected my food prepping over the past week because I´ve just been so busy. What I realised though, is that food prepping saves me so much time that I was literally making a rod for my own back by not doing it.

By not prepping my vegetables and fruit 1) They went off quicker because I didn´t use them 2) I wasted time every night chopping up veggies 2) There were times where we ate half the vegetables we usually do because I didn´t have enough time to do everything.

Lesson Learnt

So, this is what some of my vegetable prep usually looks like, obviously depending on the vegetables and fruit I have that week (so what is in season/we fancy.)

IMG_6823

Having your vegetables prepped like this means that Salads are made in seconds and with no excuses like I´m too tired or I don´t have time. End result – you eat healthier.

I don´t know what it is about strawberries in my house, but if I don´t wash them and cut them up the boys never seem to eat them and they go mouldy very quickly.

The minute they are prepped like this, they are gone in a couple of days.

I usually do the same with seedless grapes which are the little guy´s favorite!

I also roast some vegetables at the beginning of the week, as although these only last a couple of days like this, it´s a quick and healthy side for Dinner or for Lunch.

Courgette and Cauliflower, drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with garlic powder before roasting

Courgette and Cauliflower, drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with garlic powder before roasting

For some reason I didn´t get my carrots in here anywhere, which I usually also prep, so that the carrots, peppers and cauliflower can be eaten with humus at home or on the go.

To keep my carrots fresh for longer I learnt a trick a couple of years back. I wash them, pat them dry and cut the tops off. I then put them in a container in the fridge that has a paper towel at the bottom. I found that my Organic carrots went from lasting a couple of days to a couple of weeks.

Prepping your food like this also lends itself to you having a tidy and more organised fridge. I am big on having everything organised at home as you save time in the long run.

IMG_6822 IMG_6825

So get food prepping guys and your body will thank you for it as well as your sanity!

xx

7 thoughts on “What I wore Monday and some Food prepping Ideas

  1. Great ideas again! Thanks, Jane. I do prep salads, but not really other vegetables.

    And I definitely need some sparkle, too (or the sun needs to bring back some warmth). I’ll have a look on my trip to London. Yesss. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

