Christmas Decoration Storage

With Christmas and Three Kings now officially over, it was time for me to put away all those decorations so lovingly put up when the season started, with my little man.

Although we decorate the house, we don´t usually go all out as we are always away for Christmas and don´t really have time to enjoy the decorations.

This is probably a good thing when it comes to putting all the decorations away, as it´s probably the worst part of Christmas.

There are ways however, to make the whole – getting out and putting things away malarkey- a lot easier.

I always store my round christmas baubles in an empty wine box. Yes, an empty wine box. Why? Because it has six compartments that are perfect for keeping the baubles in order and can be used to separate them by color, or to separate baubles with different color glitter so that they don´t rub off on one another. You can of course store any sort of christmas decoration in a box like this.

photo 1 (9) photo 2 (12)

I have two boxes, one for normal baubles and one for my more expensive or prettier ones, but Nacho liked the idea of storing stuff in wine boxes and took one for himself! We don´t drink a lot of wine so I didn´t have any others around the house.

With no box, I just separated the prettier baubles into one bag and the soft ones, that usually go On Oliver´s tree, into another. This makes it easier when you go to take them out as the baubles are already separated depending on which tree they go on, and any fragile ones, can be carefully wrapped up and will still be in one piece when you get them back out.

These are by far my fave decoarations for the tree. They were Oli´s first snow boots and I made them into a tree decoration so we´d always have them at christmas.

These are by far my fave decoarations for the tree. They were Oli´s first snow boots and I made them into a tree decoration so we´d always have them at christmas.

These are by far my fave decorations for the tree. They were Oli´s first snow boots and I made them into a tree decoration so we´d always have them at Christmas.

In a plastic storage box I put the baubles/christmas tree decorations and lights together. This way I know that this box is for the tree when I go to get it out next Christmas.

photo 1 (10)

The first christmas decoration Oliver made and this Year´s decoration

The first christmas decoration Oliver made and this Year´s decoration 

Look at this great way of storing christmas lights without them getting tangled up from A real-life housewife

Store lights wrapped around piece of cardboard

I advise keeping the box the lights came in as it will make storage easier.

Something I find invaluable for storing Holiday Decorations is to make sure all my boxes and bags are labelled so that I know what is in each one.

I can´t remember where these labels are from so if they are your design, please let me know so I can link up to you!

I can´t remember where these labels are from so if they are your design, please let me know so I can link up to you!

All my boxes are stored at the top of the cupboard in Oliver´s playroom and I use this area almost solely for boxes of Holiday Decorations. The Halloween and Easter Decorations are also in labelled boxes which makes it easier to find the decorations depending on the Season, as they are all grouped together.

photo 4 (8)

Group all your decorations in one space if you can to avoid searching all over the house for different boxes.

Group all your decorations in one space if you can to avoid searching all over the house for different boxes.

For more ideas, here´s a great way of storing Tinsel from The Organised Housewife

As I mentioned before, we are usually away at Christmas, but we are planning on spending Christmas at home for 2015, or at least part of it!

I realised this year that I had a lot of different colored decorations. As our house decor has changed over the years, so has my taste in color for the Christmas tree decorations, and this means I have a real mix of decorations that don´t necessarily go together.

For some strange reason it seems so hard to get rid of christmas decorations. You just seem to accumulate them and try to accommodate them where you can. Anybody else do this aswell? Anybody?

So, I have decided to pick a color scheme and stick to it for my 2015 decorating. This may seem like planning too far ahead, but I have my reasons. SALES. All the christmas decorations are now half price just so that the shops can get rid of them so I figured – it´s out with the old and in with the new.

We don´t have family nearby so I can´t give my Christmas decorations to anybody, but we do have a local Orphanage and charity, ´Caritas, ´ who are very happy to take on things like Christmas decorations for those families who are less fortunate. By having a clear out, I will finally force myself to get all coordinating christmas tree decorations and hopefully, feel better that my old decorations have gone to a good home.

This New Year will definitely be a time for reorganising things in my house, so expect a lot more posts on organising your home in the chicest way possible 😉

Lastly, I couldn´t write a post without saying how truly sorry I am for all those who lost family and friends in the senseless attack in Paris. Our thoughts are with you.

Nous sommes tous Charlie

xx

2 thoughts on “Christmas Decoration Storage

  1. Gosh you gave me a lot of ideas. I just packed the same away a few hours ago. Not as well as you did though.

    I love the idea of wrapping the lights around a board. (Tried to put them back into their original box, but in vain.) And of course the wine boxes. (Not only because we’d need to drink a few bottles beforehand.) Yes, and I should label them as well. I still know what’s in them, but if Chris was ever to look for something, it wouldn’t be easy…

    And I agree: Nous sommes tous Charlie.

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

